LINCOLN, NEB. – A number of candidates seeking election to the Nebraska Legislature have received the official “Friend of Agriculture” designation from NFBF-PAC, Nebraska Farm Bureau’s political action committee. The designations have been made for candidates seeking voter approval in the Nov. 8, General Election.

“We are pleased to support a number of candidates we believe possess a strong understanding of the role and importance agriculture plays in boosting not only rural communities, but also Nebraska’s overall economy and job creation across the state,” said Mark McHargue, NFBF-PAC committee chair Aug. 19.

Farm Bureau’s ”Friend of Agriculture” designation is given to selected candidates for public office based on their commitment to and positions on agricultural issues, qualifications, previous experience, communication abilities and their ability to represent their district.

“It is critical rural and urban interests work together for the betterment of Nebraska, and having people who understand that connection and are willing to work together is important to all of us,” said McHargue.

Those receiving the “Friend of Agriculture” designation include:

  • Tommy Garrett of Bellevue, seeking re-election to Legislative Dist.3
  • Justin Wayne of Omaha, seeking to represent Legislative Dist.13
  • Gregg Neuhaus of Grand Island, seeking to represent Legislative Dist.35
  • Lou Ann Linehan of Elkhorn, seeking to represent Legislative Dist.39
  • Tom Briese of Albion, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 41

In addition to the newly announced “Friend of Agriculture” designees, Nebraska Farm Bureau had previously named several Legislative candidates as “Friends of Agriculture” prior to the Primary Election. Those designations will carry over into the General Election. Candidates having previously received the designation include:

  • Dan Watermeier of Syracuse, seeking re-election to Legislative Dist. 1
  • Joni Albrecht of Thurston, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 17
  • Jim Scheer of Norfolk, seeking re-election to Legislative Dist. 19
  • Mike Hilgers of Lincoln, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 21
  • Jerry Johnson of Wahoo, seeking re-election to Legislative Dist. 23
  • Suzanne Geist of Lincoln, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 25
  • Bob Lammers of Kearney, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 37
  • Al Davis of Hyannis, seeking re-election to Legislative Dist. 43
  • Steve Erdman of Bayard, seeking to represent Legislative Dist. 47

“We look forward to providing support for all of the ‘Friend of Agriculture’ candidates as they seek to represent the interests of Farm Bureau members from across the state in the Nebraska Unicameral,” said McHargue.

The Nebraska Farm Bureau is a grassroots, state-wide organization dedicated to supporting farm and ranch families and working for the benefit of all Nebraskans through a wide variety of educational, service and advocacy efforts. More than 61,000 families across Nebraska are Farm Bureau members, working together to achieve rural and urban prosperity as agriculture is a key fuel to Nebraska’s economy. For more information about Nebraska Farm Bureau and agriculture, visit